Fantastic Africa – Why Africa is so rich!

So while I spoke of Africa fatigue in my last blog I must counteract that with the wonderful reality that the world that is lucky to have Africa as a part of it.

Mbale thanksThe Africans are so refined at knowing what is the most pure and important in life – people, family, music, conversation, dance, ceremony, culture, tradition and so much more. It doesn’t mean they don’t want more or consciously know what they do have as it still comes naturally to them.

When I compare Africa to where I come from in Australia (once upon a time), I feel Africa is still not completely spoilt by some of the cancers of society in the west like rampant consumerism, profit over people and striving for the ultimate lifestyle of excess and self.

I hate making Africa and developing countries out as the noble savages but I do have to say there are still so many aspects of African life that haven’t been corrupted by money and consumer influence. Sadly I do have to say it feels like it is on the verge for it as the shopping malls, big supermarkets and consumer culture is here and growing rapidly. I want to stand in front of it all and say – NO! Don’t! You don’t need or want all this stuff it will make you poorer in time, culture, personal interaction and will make you just another place that has more than they need and not happier for it!!! But I can’t say this or decide what is best for Africa as someone who has had the opportunity to do anything, own everything and then choose simplicity.100_0831

The best I can do is appreciate the aspects of African life that are still pure and the natural resilience and resourcefulness that is a strong part of anyone’s personality and way of living here.

I also know I will have my little melt downs when I get back to Australia and other such countries where people can show absolutely no resilience or self responsibility and complain about the most ridiculous trivial things.

So where does that leave me now? (poor me… another trait we are great at mastering in the west – ‘the victim’ mentality). Actually quite the opposite of poor me as I get the absolute privilege to appreciate the best of all cultures and continents which make me infinitely richer in experiences, perspectives and sources of inspiration.

100_0872

 

Thank you so much Uganda for the past 5 and a half months, again I have learnt so much from you and been blessed to interact with so many beautiful people, places and experiences. It has also been the place I have been for the longest time in 5 years so it has been nice to get to know a place a little more than skin deep.

My Ugandan Family I have been living with...

My Ugandan Family I have been living with…

Mwebale Nyo! xx

About lunny06

Experiences are the richest thing in life. Love them and live them.
This entry was posted in 2013 Life, Uganda and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fantastic Africa – Why Africa is so rich!

  1. kids1407 says:

    Keep up your good work. Wishing you a happy holiday and leap into the new year. May 2014 be a better year for all who share this pretty planet that you so beautifully describe in your blog.
    Peace,
    Larry

    • lunny06 says:

      Thank you Larry and will always keep in touch as we cross-inspire in our experiences and collaborations with others…

      All the best!

      Cheers, d’Arcy.
      PS I have been taking some cold showers in colder climates since Uganda and I was definitely affected by the weather when I wrote my cold shower blog!!!

Leave a Reply

