A Beautiful Day In Tumby Bay

I am now over 100 presentations for the Global Poverty Project and I finally got to present back at my old school of Tumby Bay where I was a teacher for a year in 2007 – yes one of the jobs where I managed to stay in the same place for 12 months.

It was quite a surreal experience at first seeing my old students who I have probably spent as much time with as anyone else in the past 11 years – it was like seeing family again and wanting to give them a big hug and tell them how much they have grown (which is generally what you do when you are between the ages of 9 and 12!).

Anyway it was a really nice way to summarise my life in the past 4 years and have look at where I had come from, what have done, what I am doing now and what I want to do in the future. From it was a wonderful appreciation of my year in a country town and the admiration of those who have been there for the past 4 years and continued to lead very different lives to myself. It really shows there is no one life more important than another and I value all of the people in Tumby Bay just as much as the teachers in Ethiopia from 2008 or the multitude of students I have presented to from 2009-11.

We all walk very important, usually busy, challenging and mostly fulfilling lives in so many shapes and forms and it makes me very humble with a huge amount of gratitude how we decide to live our lives in separate unique ways. My only wish is that we all allow this to happen by living simply with a sense of grace and empathy for those who can’t simply live.

So a long way round of saying what a wonderful experience it was to be back in Tumby and on the Eyre Peninsulato re-connect some dots, plot dots for the future and be joyous in the dot I’m currently on. (I think that was another round about way of saying the Eyre Peninsulais great!).

The Year 3/4 Crew 2007 TBAS

About lunny06

Experiences are the richest thing in life. Love them and live them.
This entry was posted in 2011 Life, Global Poverty Project Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

