2012 – What a Start…

Celebrant, Inseminator, Cricket Media Mogul and a fair bit in between – January 2012

It’s been a while in between drinks for this blog and the stories have built up a lot! To do it any justice I will have to summarise and allow you to make the detail in your head, or probably better off not going into detail!

So what do John Howard, ordained celebrant and artificial inseminator have in common…? Well they have all been a part of my life for the month of January.

From New Years I set off on my relatively sugar free journey to the Sydney cricket test where I watched Ponting and Clark make many runs and did a spot of filming with Brett Lee and the Swarmy Army for a public service announcement dedicated to the eradication of polio for a year in India. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ugGCSbH80t4#!

I then had a 36 hour stop over in Adelaide where I popped in, gave mum a surprise visit and donated 7 amounts of baby making material to a friend of mine who is trying to get pregnant. Donation was via cup and syringe for all those sick-o’s wanting to know more in detail!

Image

It official (on the internet!) I'm an Ordained Celebrant (in the State of Hawaii).

Back to Melbourne for two short days to bid farewell to my wonderful friends who had me live under them in their basement from time to time for the past two years. I also did the on-line course to become an ordained marriage celebrant in the State of Hawaii so I can wed them both in March, in Hawaii obviously.

And so on to Perth where for 10 days I was the chaperone, guide, helper, advocator, chauffer, buddy and all-round-anything for former Indian cricketing legend Mr Chandrasekhar and his lovely wife Seema.

Image

Chandra Seema & I - Little Creatures

Here we did media interviews, guest appearances and advocacy for the celebration of India being polio free for 12 months on 13 January 2012 and also the first day of the Perth India verses Australia cricket test. It was an absolute privilege to spend time with Chandra and engage the cricketing and broader community in the efforts, milestones and continued support needed in the eradication of polio. Including the ABC 7.30 Report http://www.abc.net.au/7.30/content/2012/s3413981.htm

Image

One of many interviews for Chandra

I could name drop here but the list is far too long and basically it was my childhood dream of wanting to be a professional cricketer – if I couldn’t do it with bat or ball I might as well do it with a social justice angle. The awareness and support around the campaign was amazing and the 18-20 hour days, some of the hardest volunteering I have done, was definitely worth it! http://www.theendofpolio.com

As we moved from Perth to Adelaide, after a private helicopter flight to Rottness Island, ADD PIC HERE we again engaged with the Adelaide media and public around the Adelaide test for the awareness and advocacy to eradicate polio. I think the best way to get a sense of what we were doing is to see the 7.30 Report TV clip that was shot in Adelaide – http://www.abc.net.au/7.30/content/2012/s3413981.htm

The only soul-selling moment of the whole experience was having to wear a tuxedo to the test match dinner… so it seems I will do anything for poverty! No photos ever to be release as I have to keep my personal brand intact!

After 18 days of incredible cricket, polio advocacy and life experiences I bid farewell to Chandra and wife as they headed to Melbourne for some well earned rest and private travel and I finished with a final PSA with Wasim Akram to see the efforts of polio eradication in India extend itself to Pakistan.

Image

Wasim almost looking as sharp as me...

Polio job done, and back onto trying to impregnate my friend again after the previous months efforts didn’t hit the mark… A more natural approach this time so will see if there is anything to come of it 9 months down the track.

So what can only be described as an experience-rich time I love the fact that I am able to grab these opportunities, continually live my dreams, share with and learn from others and just be in awe of how fantastic, varied and wonderful the world is.

Now on the plane to Aotearoa New Zealand for the next six weeks to help out with the Global Poverty Project in a country I would like to call home for at least a couple of years one day!

Namaste, and huge massive thanks to all those who made this experience true, rich and rewarding!

Image

PS. Don’t forget Rotary…

About lunny06

Experiences are the richest thing in life. Love them and live them.
This entry was posted in 2012 Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2012 – What a Start…

  1. AB says:

    Love the post script – and you look good in a collar and tie.

Leave a Reply

