Aotearoa New Zealand My Home in 2013?

New Zealand is so amazing even the rocks float here…

Sorry my blogging has been a bit lapsed but this full-time volunteering gig is really busy! And as I have been splashing on this blog I am setting up for a wonderful ride in north-western America in April – Living Below the Line! http://lunnyLBTL.wordpress.com

Currently outside the window it is raining hard with wind gusts of up 100km/h which Wellington is a little famous for but I am just as inspired and resolved to make this my home next year.

I know I am totally whimsical and I will probably be writing to you from Oregon saying a similar thing in a month from now but I do feel there is something special for me here in NZ. I have kind of known for a long time that I wanted to spend time in this place. This was confirmed when I rode around the South Island in 2009.

What I can see here is meaningful time. I don’t feel I need to ‘settle’ but I would love to get to know a community – integrate with it, learn from it, support it and live it with time. I love new places and people but there is something yearning in me to intimately know fewer people and places with extended time. Maybe that is just called ‘settling’!

I can see a very clear future here with a mix of teaching, advocating, volunteering, nature, adventure and community.

The small community of Paekakariki has me totally encapsulated. I go for a walk, run or ride around this town and my mind races with a life I know I can (and probably will) lead. One of the big thoughts that has come to mind is a little proposal of the Simply Happy – a sustainable life model and education project… Plus I would have to like in a place that has a cool name like Paekakariki after living in places like Nanporo and Bonga!

For now it is a day in the elements of wonderful Wellington, then supporting and training for the GPP Ambassador program and of course the Live Below the Line ride in America soon!

A range of photos and un-commonsense to follow soon!

Pure amazing NZ nature

About lunny06

Experiences are the richest thing in life. Love them and live them.
This entry was posted in 2012 Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aotearoa New Zealand My Home in 2013?

  1. Julia LM says:

    Amazing, as ever. I love reading about you and what you’re up to. It is a magical special place and it deserves you and vice versa. I do hope you end up there. I will come to visit if you do. Just sent you an email introducing you to my best friend, who lives nearby. Here’s hoping for a connection!

    • lunny06 says:

      Thanks Julia. I have some great plans, active citizenship and community participation for the place I ‘settle’ for at least a few sleeps. Would to know anyone you know and even more to have you visit once in a spot for more than a few days!

Leave a Reply

