I’ve Won the Lottery! (everyday for the past 11 years)

Why would you want to win the lottery…?

It has taken a while but I’m sure in the past 11 years I know that my happiness, well-being and security is not bound or bolstered with false hope and fortune on something as ridiculous as winning the lottery.

I fell like I have won the lottery everyday and in actual fact I have. Had I been born into absolute poverty, conflict, neglect or any of these hardships I might have been able to do the things I have chosen to do, certainly not travel the way I have and do.

‘But if I win the lottery you could help so many people…!’ Well help people anyway. You don’t have to wait till you have made your fortune before you can start to give something back to others. There is a huge amount of joy in both giving and receiving. In my experience the more you give the more you get back from the gift of giving (self-fulfilment here folks not things and money).

My theory is, live life like you have won the lottery but not dependent on ‘happy’ items and events. As the bumper sticker says ‘I want to want less’ and the less you want the more fulfilled you can be and then winning the lottery doesn’t become all that wonderful, important or necessary anymore.

To tie this back into my adventures for next month (cycling 1000 miles in North America Living Below the Line – eating on less than US$1.50/day) I know that I will have the choice of rice, oats, beans, lentils and little else but I also know I will learn to live and appreciate all of these things because it is what I will have access to. This is what people in extreme poverty also have to do but the difference is they will never have the opportunity to want because they still have needs that aren’t being serviced…

Really can’t wait for the big jump I will make along my spectrum of simplicity, learning and appreciating more from less – it is gong to be a hell of a Live Below the Line for me.

I can’t advocate or encourage enough for everyone to sign up for Live Below the Line (May 7-11). You will get: a great appreciation of how people live in extreme poverty and more than that

  • how happy you can be with less (not glorifying poverty here just showing how far beyond need we have grown),
  • the clarity of simplicity and sense of time it provides,
  • the amazing conversations you will start and
  • the inspiration you will give to others…

If it is not your bag, no worries as I am not here to tell anyone what to do but I think it is one of the best campaigns, challenges, learning experiences and reflections I have had in a developed country…

And if it is still not your bag, how bout donating to the cause to see those living in extreme poverty to live with access and opportunity so they don’t have to decide over hunger or education for their children – https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/lunnylbtl

Save your money on lottery tickets and put it into choosing your fortune without needing luck or a million dollars or sponsor me on my ride!

xx

What more could anyone want or need - especially the freedom...

About lunny06

Experiences are the richest thing in life. Love them and live them.
This entry was posted in 2012 Life, Live Below the Line. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve Won the Lottery! (everyday for the past 11 years)

  1. Denis says:

    Best of (lottery!) luck-Denis (Ethiopia)

Leave a Reply

