When in Pakistan…

You know you are in Pakistan when…

Lahore

  • The formality and politeness would make the queen blush – this could have something to do with being Australian and very informal!
  • Telephone infrastructure is better than the west as it is made affordable to the poor
  • The best cricketers you’ve ever seen play with a rock and stick – amazing
  • A packet of the finest cumin seed biscuits costs 15 rupee (15c) or if you were to go decedent a Magnum ice cream is 80 rupee (80c) still too tight to buy one though when you could purchase almost 6 packets of cumin seed biscuits!
  • Now is tomorrow, tomorrow is next week and next week is Insh’Allah (god’s will)!
  • People are either trying to rip you off or, more likely, not charge you anything!
    • Rarely ripped off but have people stop and drive me places or even buy my groceries while I am at the shop counter!
  • At a certain point after the formal pleasantries are done, men will jump into conversation that entails ‘How many women you been sexy with…?’ or similar!
  • People always seem to laugh at my last name – Lunn and I finally found out it means penis – had to find a language eventually that can mock me!
  • Traffic = chaos, lines on the road are paint and slightly organised chaos prevails and where a pot hole in the road is like to be an open manhole in the road or just the road
  • You get a 5.30am wake up call everyday from the nearby Mosques and the lovely call to prayer – even more lovely going back to sleep after ignoring them (I’m not a very devout Muslim, nor am I really Muslim, but I like the call to prayer!)

NUST cricket eventThis is a beautiful country with beautiful people, beautiful culture, beautiful religion and beautiful way of life. The contrasts and comparisons are beautifully vast and different not only to my white-Australian upbringing but also within the country itself.

This is not a country that is without it’s problems but the vast majority are peaceful happy people proud of their culture and country but suffering due to a few and it’s image portrayed outside.

If nothing in this country that I have been a part of including many presentations, workshops and meetings I think the best thing I can be for this country is it’s fan and tell it as it is – even in my typical positive optimistic way and encourage others to take this version of this country as a bigger piece of perception pie than the sensationalist report we hear of one nutter being a moron to their own people.

I know I am in Pakistan when – I live, learn and relish the people and environment around me to be a richer, happier and more experienced global citizen.

NUST workshop group shot

About lunny06

Experiences are the richest thing in life. Love them and live them.
This entry was posted in 2012 Life, Opinions / Thoughts / Reflections, Pakistan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

