So much to be thankful of…

Pre-note, this was written on the first evening of a cycling tour I did on Ssese Island and surrounds. I should also add I was exhausted the following two nights to write anything or to maybe even be thankful except for going to bed!

All I need in life...

All I need in life…

It can and should be very easy for us to be thankful for so much. How do I know this? Not because I have seen extreme poverty often over the past 13 years nor because I know I was born into the extreme richest 20% of the world by accident.

As I sat this evening on the beach on Lake Victoria with my tent pitched behind me and bicycle next to a tree – I had the stars above, the fish flapping in the water, crickets in the background and a lightning storm entertaining me in the distance there was nothing more perfect I could imagine for one person. 100_0738

We are so lucky when we get to pause and step away from ‘normal daily life’ we can have access to nature, usually amazing or distinct in some way. Nature really is available to anyone and everyone – in varying forms but we can usually seek it out, even some small slither of it, to cleanse our lungs, heighten our senses and enrich our soul. 100_0728

There is often so much we can occupy ourselves with – worry, stress, dissatisfaction and often envy but there is far more we can be appreciative, thankful and fulfilled by without actually needing much – and that can be before delving into family, friends and community.100_0750

Soon it will be thanksgiving in North America and I think it is the one North American holiday that should be celebrated by every country (and also the least commercial of the American holidays) and I think it is a nice thing to do when we have the opportunity as it is always an option.

Again simplicity to me is a wonderful means of accessing positivity, optimism and thankfulness. I think when we have less we appreciate more, especially those things that are always there and available but often not realised or sought – for me that includes walking and looking into the sky at clouds, a blue canvas or stars at night.

One of my new year resolutions was to find a cloud in the shape of a monkey - I think this is close and it is playing chess with a man in thinking position!

One of my new year resolutions was to find a cloud in the shape of a monkey – I think this is close and it is playing chess with a man in thinking position!

To me the glass is not half full, the world is full of beauty and perfection without needing a glass!

Not sure of what exactly has made me high on life this evening but I know riding a bike and camping by a beach on a beautiful evening certainly helps… 100_0743

Hope we all have the chance to be thankful for so much and push this to the front of our minds and agenda as often as we can and to override the negativity and pity we often fill ourselves with.

Feeling Happy, simply just because I am and I can 😉

100_0755

About lunny06

Experiences are the richest thing in life. Love them and live them.
This entry was posted in 2013 Life, Opinions / Thoughts / Reflections, Simply Happy, Uganda and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So much to be thankful of…

  1. kids1407 says:

    Just think what a wonderful world it would be if every day was Thanksgiving. It is strange and fitting that the first night of Hanukkah falls on Thanksgiving. Keep up your good work.

Leave a Reply

