Just before I kick off another year in social justice advocacy – thank you!

Dear Anyone / Everyone (especially in 2012 and in the past years)!

I hope the start to the year has been a good one for you.

I must say a HUGE thank you for your support in 2012, and probably longer than that, as it was a very privileged and wonderful year where I was able to: 

  • ride, walk and journey 1000 miles in northwest, USA and BC, Canada while eating on $1.50 per day;
  • travel across Canada for 5 months volunteering and working on advocacy with the Canadian public and government for the global eradication of polio;
  • organise a polio dinner event with Rotary in Montreal for 125 people and attended by former Canadian PM, Paul Martin, raising awareness and $18,000 for polio eradication efforts
  • attend the high level polio meeting at the United Nations General Assembly in New York;
  • help in the organisation of the Global Citizen Festival – an awareness-raising and action concert in Central Park with 60,000 people there live and a further 15 million watching online and on TV;
  • travel to Pakistan and India visiting polio programs on the ground and giving presentations adding to the 65 presentations and 3000 audience members I had presented to in Canada; and
  • return home safely to Australia to refresh and get ready to do it all over again this year!

Sorry for the spiel/boast but really the support I receive from each of you and others in housing, transporting, feeding or talking to me makes it possible for me to work largely as a volunteer, follow my dreams and advocate for those who don’t the freedom, access and opportunities I have.

This year I am set to:

  • lead polio eradication for the Global Poverty Project and The End of Polio campaign in Aotearoa New Zealand, while also implementing a personal little venture called Happy, simply. – a lifestyle model and education project;
  • return to Australia for a month or so to keep the foreign aid budget in tact;
  • a possible trip to Brunei and Pakistan for a PolioPoints school program with huge international implications; and
  • for the final 6-7 months I will be volunteering on the Stop the Transmission Of Polio program likely to be in Africa, Afghanistan or Pakistan – a very exciting and rewarding year ahead!
  • (and on top of this I will be a donor father for a friend of mine who is due to give birth on 14 April)

Before I step back into the office next Monday I wanted to give you all a big thank you for your support and know that it makes a huge difference to me and hopefully others I have learnt from…

Many big/huge/wonderful/happy Thanks

d’Arcy.

A few links on the past year and for 2013:

– My Live Below the Line trip of 2012 – http://lunnyLBTL.wordpress.com

– The polio advocacy work I did in Canada – http://www.theendofpolio.com/home/2012/06/the-presentation-and-engagement-with-polio/

– My time in Pakistan and India – https://lunny06.wordpress.com

– The Happy, simply. project – http://happysimply.wordpress.com/

Pretending to look formal and important!

Pretending to look formal and important!

me & bike ready to tour

About Living Geo d'Arcy

Experiences are the richest thing in life. Love them and live them.
This entry was posted in 2012 Life, Global Poverty Project Blogs, Live Below the Line, The End of Polio and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment